I have deviated at the first hurdle!

Now that my shopping has arrived, I am noticing a few things. Like: I’d forgotten that Best Mate is having a cakebaking phase and every egg in London is now in our fridge. And: dear holy actual God, that’s a lot of carrots. As many of which as possible I should probably eat this week. And then I realised that the first carrotty meal in the planner is Falafel with Carrot Salad, which means that I will actually end up cooking for all three of us because everyone loves falafel and using up the pita bread tonight and asking Best Mate to pick up some hummus on her way back from work because I could make it but I’ll be busy making falafels and it’s a sneaky way of keeping my own cost down while making everyone dinner 😉

I’ve made falafels once before, using Jack’s original recipe, and they were a huge hit here in Goblintown* even though they had very little structural integrity and squished down into paste as soon as you put them in the pita bread. They were pretty delicious though. So I am already being a rebel; I suspect I shall make modified-Jack-falafels and serve them with Lesley-carrot-salad and pita bread and hummus. Because there are going to be three of us, and I am terrible at following rules, and also it’s only ten past four and I am already bloody starving.

I shall keep you all posted.

* That is the name of our house. Yes, I know. I choose to attribute it to the tendencies of our token male resident to sneak around biting people and cackling, though in truth I think it came from Best Mate’s freaky-looking cats.

3 thoughts on “I have deviated at the first hurdle!

    • Of course in the end Best Mate was going out and I had forgotten, so Chickpea Crumble it was for me and the Token Male 🙂 And, by the by, it was completely delicious.

      I added some curry powder and a bunch of other seasoning to everything and a thick layer of mature cheddar and more nuts than you did, so it wasn’t *quite* your recipe and nothing like as frugal as I really ought to be making things if I am to live inside my actual budget, but it was definitely delicious.

      Thank you so much for these recipes – I am already enjoying doing this!

Leave a Reply

